Invisible tattoos are more than skin deep

I really like the idea of getting a tattoo, I know which local tattoo parlour has a good reputation (and a clean bill of health!), I have their phone number on my phone, their website bookmarked and I keep up to date with their changing artists.

I’ve gone through a number of design evolutions to get things just right, only to discard the paper versions when I can see them every time I close my eyes. At least count there were three that I have perfectly envisioned and two that I am still refining.

supernatural tattoo 2

(photo from the internet – finding one which wasn’t fan-art of them in underwear was surprisingly hard)

However I don’t have any nor even any short term plans to get one. I’ve never even had a henna tattoo out of concern that an adverse reaction would prevent my dying my hair on a whim – especially as I always skip the 48 hours skin sensitivity test!

Despite tattoos having some really interesting cultural designs, particularly from more Eastern areas, and some really interesting history – both positive and negative, the sad reality is that a lot of tattoos look better on paper than they do on person and I have no desire to be stuck with something less than perfect.

tribal-dragon-tattoo-design

(photo from a collection site which didn’t quote a parlour, an artist or even whose skin it is – I’d like to know!)

Walking down most high streets on a weekend does tend to offer up multiple walking and walking examples of bad ideas and worse artwork. A woman I worked with had three stars on her wrist – they were smudged to the extent that they looked like they’d been drawn on with biro – it was actually a tourist resort tattoo! A friend has a kingfisher with its beak in a flower, she’d asked for a humming bird but the parlour apparently got confused!

ozzy-osbourne

(stock photo of Ozzy looking a tiny little bit loco)

There is also the, alleged, quote from Ozzy Osbourne “If you want to be (censored) individual don’t get a tattoo. Every (censored)’s got one these days.” Coming from someone with so many ‘different’ bits of body art that is particularly damning and staying clean is sounding a very good idea!

But it won’t stop me planning to add to my invisible collection.

Copyright © WhereEvilThoughts 2013 – excluding pictures! Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to WhereEvilThoughts with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

One thought on “Invisible tattoos are more than skin deep

  1. Pingback: Nails: Stars – Twinkle, twinkle pretty nails | Where evil Thoughts

Leave a Reply

