TV: ‘The Prisoner’ – now with added Jesus.

Like most people of working age with a family (or arguably anyone of working age!) I am short on time for the things that I want to do.

So whilst I can see the merits in making time for some relaxing yoga I often can’t see the point in watching a slow TV show or film.

For example the recent remake of ‘The Prisoner’, I’d heard almost decent things about it and it was only six episodes so it didn’t seem a huge time investment.

Rover the prisoner

I didn’t even last through the first episode, the plot seemed similar to the original – the chap wakes up in a random idyllic village and can’t leave. The people are all dull and the lead is irritating in his blandness.

In case anyone is interested the lead is Jim Caviezel who played Jesus Chris in Mel Gibson’s ‘The Passion of the Christ’ – which I haven’t seen, but I have seen what watching it did to Cartman so that doesn’t encourage me to watch it!

the passion of the christ

Pretty much all I got from watching ‘The Prisoner’ was a flashback to watching ‘Population 436’ – a rather indifferent film most memorable for having Fred Durst in it.

The plot is a chap from the US Census Bureau goes to a random idyllic village and everyone acts like he can’t leave – daja vu much? I got to the end of that film, it was sort of like a bad Stephen King and to be honest I had rather forgotten about it until ‘The Prisoner’ was duller!

Copyright © WhereEvilThoughts 2013 – excluding pictures! Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to WhereEvilThoughts with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Leave a Reply

