Marks and Spencer Smokey Bacon Lentil Tubes – Making icky sound healthy

I remember when Walkers cheese and onion crisps weren’t suitable for vegetarians but their smoky bacon crisps were. As I don’t like cheese and onion I didn’t mind and smoky bacon is a very artificial-tasting flavour at the best of times!

This is probably because smoky bacon crisps are generally flavoured by a lot of paprika and very little else, but it does mean that every manufacturer that I’ve noticed has veggie friendly smoky bacon crisps.

lentil

(Lentil picture from Wiki)

The start of every year does seem to involve all the local supermarkets trying to push ‘healthy’ foods onto consumers – it is debatable how healthy or edible these foods really are. In Marks and Spencer I couldn’t avoid the huge display of ‘healthy’ crisps which were made with lentils rather than potato – which made them a *mere* 90 calories per bag.

I rarely eat crisps but these sounded interesting and were on offer, so conned by a combination of money off and healthy snacking I bought a multipack of smoky bacon lentil crisps.

The fairest thing I can say about them is they were not nice, I didn’t even finish my half of the initial packet that I shared with my ever-patient husband. He didn’t actively hate them as much as I did, but he hasn’t remembered that there are still four more individual packets in the cupboard so they can’t have been good!

Copyright © WhereEvilThoughts 2014 – excluding pictures! Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to WhereEvilThoughts with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Leave a Reply

