Film: Robocop – “I am now authorized to use physical force!”

From an early age one of my parents ensured that I had access to age-inappropriate media – largely books but when my parents finally decided to buy a TV there were also films available to utterly ignore the age ratings on.

However one film that I wasn’t exposed to as a child was ‘Robocop’, there doesn’t seem to be any particular reason why this wasn’t on the table as the Terminator films were firm favourites and one that my younger sibling developed a fixation with that lasted several years.

robocop

The release of the remake prompted a strange series of events whereby I am now in possession of the family copy of all three original Robocop films, so now I finally got to watch the original!

I rather like this vision of a dystopian future, the idea of corporations manipulating people to that extent and with such disregard is concerningly likely, the intercut adverts were amusing and sinister all at once, I now really want an ED-209 enforcement droid for work and I can’t understand why someone would want to remake this film.

Copyright © WhereEvilThoughts 2014 – excluding pictures! Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to WhereEvilThoughts with appropriate and specific direction to the original content

Leave a Reply

