TV: Castle – “you kill my patience”

I tried ‘Castle’ on a whim, I’d liked ‘Bones’ when I’d randomly watched some and had accidentally blitzed through 8 seasons of back episodes and am now eagerly awaiting each Wednesday evening for my latest fix of season 9.

‘Castle’ just happened to be the next series with several seasons available on demand and the first couple of episodes were interesting enough to pay some attention to but not so riveting that I couldn’t multitask at the same time.

castle tv

I was vaguely aware that the male lead had a familiar voice but it was about 5 episodes in before I realised he sounded REALLY familiar, like Nathan Fillion from ‘Firefly’ familiar – in my defence I saw the series once through, the film once and it has been on my rewatch list but I hadn’t got around to it yet.

Castle’ is a drama, like very early ‘Law and Order’ but with intentional jokes. Richard Castle is a crime fiction novelist who has a chance encounter with the NYPD homicide investigation unit and much to the horror of Detective Kate Beckett.

Worryingly Castle adds real value to the team so he keeps coming along and so far that is the plot for season 1, even if it doesn’t develop any further it is still amusing and light enough to keep me tuning in. It isn’t a patch on ‘Bones’ though.

Copyright © WhereEvilThoughts 2014 – excluding pictures! Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to WhereEvilThoughts with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Leave a Reply

