Book: Chuck Palahniuk’s ‘Invisible Monsters’ – “Nothing of me is original. I am the combined effort of everyone I’ve ever known”

I have only read the original version of ‘Invisible Monsters’, I haven’t read the 2012 released version (‘Invisible Monsters Remix‘) despite a mild interest. This is probably because I am concerned that there might be more vivid descriptions of cosmetic surgery specific to a below the waist region.

Stable named narrators are overrated in Chuck’s worlds, so instead we have a former-model who is disfigured and has multiple names given to her by Brandy Alexander who is has a personality to rival a force of nature.

Invisible Monsters Palahniuk

I can’t describe this book without spoilers, everything is a potential spoiler. What I will say is that it is useful to be non-squeamish and open-minded to the concept of family outside of the nuclear definition.

It’s one of the bitchiest things that I’ve read, it’s funny, scary and downright weird. I can’t work out if I love or hate it, but it is completely unforgettable.

Copyright © WhereEvilThoughts 2014 – excluding pictures! Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to WhereEvilThoughts with appropriate and specific direction to the original content

Leave a Reply

