Book: Terry Pratchett’s ‘I Shall Wear Midnight’ – “Evil begins when you begin to treat people as things”

It transpired that ‘I Shall Wear Midnight’ is the fourth Tiffany Aching book – of which I’ve read only the last two, this and ‘Wintersmith‘ ‘Wintersmith’ was ok but I didn’t expect its sequel – also aimed at Young Adults, to very early on feature a 13 year old being beaten so savagely that she miscarried. This seemed a little too much for my tastes and I was slightly surprise by it. i shall wear midnight Adding to the “oh” factor is the detail that Roland has moved on from Tiff and is now going to marry someone else and the entire plot feeling recycled from an element of ‘Wyrd Sisters’. There is humour in the book and also random cameos that work to varying degrees – Granny Weathwax and Nanny Ogg are in it a little bit. Magrat Garlick is acknowledged as existing – but not a lot more! Personally the most interesting thing about the Tiffany books is that Agnes Nitt appears to have vanished from Pratchett’s universe. I wanted to like this book but I was bother by the miscarriage element more than I expected and the rest of the book wasn’t strong enough to wash it away. So this and ‘Wintersmith’ are not going to be moving house with us. Copyright © WhereEvilThoughts 2014 – excluding pictures! Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to WhereEvilThoughts with appropriate and specific direction to the original content


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s