Gardening: Getting started and stressing out

We moved from a flat with no garden – communal moss doesn’t count, to a house with a small garden.

I don’t know what size it is and I’m awful at guessing measurements but if pushed I would guess madly that it can’t be more than 6 metres by 3.

My parents are REALLY good at gardening and prefer the organised chaos look. The in-laws grow vegetables and rhubarb. So I feel a bit of pressure. This pressure is then increased by my parents suggesting all sorts of plants for the garden and expecting me to have a handle on what I want and to have long term plans.

The truth was that I had zero plans, I had the vague idea that growing edible stuff could be cool.

I knew the soil was clay with lots of stones in (and some random sand that was probably dumped when the house was build in the mid 1980s) and I knew compost was my friend! Then parents gave me £100 towards plants and a link to a website who had a sale on!

Now I am going to have to pretend that I know what I’m doing and what I want!  No pressure!

Copyright © WhereEvilThoughts 2015 – excluding pictures! Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to WhereEvilThoughts with appropriate and specific direction to the original content

Leave a Reply

